“Grown-Ups Don’t Eat Cereal.”

I was sitting at the computer this morning, checking my stats and having some Raisin Bran.

In non-eating-disorder families, adults do eat cereal if that's what they're hungry for.

In non-eating-disorder families, adults do eat cereal if they want it, and they eat until they’re full. Image: stewickie

My youngest son, E, age seven, came up to me and asked, “What are you eating?”

“Cereal,” I said.

He burst out laughing. “That’s funny! Grown-ups don’t eat cereal.”

I looked at him in confusion. “Of course grown-ups eat cereal.” But then I thought about it. Through my many anti-carb diets, my starvation diets and my never-ever-ever-ever-eat-breakfast diets, he probably hasn’t ever seen me eat cereal.

What a mixed-up eating world it is when a kid thinks an adult eating cereal is the height of upside-down humor.

Leave a Reply

