Body Wisdom

We used to eat pretty much like this, and we weren't gigantic. Go figure. robyn-cooks.blogspot.com

We used to eat like this, and we weren’t gigantic. robyn-cooks.blogspot.com

So, part of intuitive eating is supposed to be learning what your body actually likes and responds well to.

And this carb-fest I’ve been on is really throwing my body for a loop. I was in a total carb coma today. I slept nearly the entire day, actually. Just couldn’t wake up.

Now granted I do have thyroid disease. But usually I’m a bit more awake than this! Thank God my in-laws had the kids today. I was worth basically squat.

Another thing I’m finding is that I don’t like diet soda. I mean, I like the taste. Diet sodas have come a long way. But it actually kind of burns/tingles in my stomach. I’m not sure whether it’s just the carbonation or whether the chemicals are what are producing the burning, but, well…I don’t like it. And oddly, until I paid attention, I never realized I felt this way (physically) in response to diet soda.

So here’s a novel idea: I think I really am going to try to eat normally, or at least “normally” as I perceive it. No limit on portions as regards my hunger level at any particular meal, but real, old-fashioned, “normal” meals. A protein, a “starch” (that’s what we used to call them in the old days…she said, putting the tube back on her Preparation H), a veggie. Something along those lines. I already have breakfast planned: an egg scrambled with some vegetables, a piece of toast with butter and coffee.

Real normal eating? The hell you say…But yep. (deep breath) For the first time in 40 years, I’m going to give it a go.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

