Leaving Food On Your Plate

I wasn’t hungry today until 1:00, so that’s when I ate. I had a bagel with American cheese, lightly toasted/melted. It was very good, but I found I couldn’t eat the whole thing. I had thought when I baked it that I would only need about half…a “fist size,” as the pros like to call it (the stomach, when empty, is only about the size of your fist). Instead I ate most of it…but not all.

That’s huge for me.

I can't believe I didn't eat the whole thing. (Children of the 70s will totally get this reference.)

I can’t believe I didn’t eat the whole thing. (Children of the 70s will totally get this reference.)

Sheryl Canter says in Normal Eating for Normal Weight that if you eat all the food on the plate so as not to waste it, you’ve still wasted it; you’ve just wasted it within your own body. “You are not a human garbage can.”

This piece is in my fridge. I didn’t throw it away because the old “don’t leave food on your plate” dictate still runs strong through these old veins. The bagel is there…I didn’t waste it. If I want more later – tomorrow, in two hours, in twenty minutes – I can have it.

It’s really that simple. (Sometimes.)

Leave a Reply

